Some people think placing advertisements in schools is a great resource for public schools that need additional funding, but others think it exploits children by treating them as a captive audience for corporate sponsors.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

School commercialism has come under immense scrutiny and criticism over the past few decades. Some may argue that it is fair for public schools to collaborate with advertising companies and benefactors as an alternate stream of raising revenue to offset budget cuts by the government. It can also be argued as one more commercial at schools or on the school bus would not make a difference in the mind of a child.

On the contrary, recent studies have successfully argued that it is in fact more harmful than previously thought towards the well-being of a growing child.

In my opinion, such advertising creates bias within the young mind of a child. Rather than nurturing these children to be creative and to have strategic thinking, it creates followers. Not only does advertising in schools expose kids to marketing of harmful products, it teaches students that everything is for sale. Research has shown that children who are exposed to excessive advertising face negative repercussions to their health, self-esteem, values, body-image, learning processes and personal development.

Similarly, marketing undermines critical thinking and derails public education's most important mission of helping children become active, thinking participants in a democratic society. Schools can either educate students to become good citizens or train them to become passive consumers. They cannot do both.

In conclusion, yes, kids are exposed to advertising all the time, but schools should not endorse and add to the constant marketing messages in their lives which may be detrimental to their development towards becoming a whole individual. It is also apparent that these benefit only the agencies, while harming students and leaving schools with little to show for their efforts.