Some people think placing advertisements in schools is a great resource for public schools that need additional funding, but others think it exploits children by treating them as a captive audience for corporate sponsors.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

School commercialism has come under immense scrutiny and criticism over the past few decades.

Some may argue that it is fair for public schools to collaborate with advertising companies and benefactors as an alternate stream of raising revenue to offset budget cuts by the governments. It can also be argued, since children are exposed to advertising all the time including in the home-front, one more commercial at schools or on the school bus would not make a difference. On the contrary, recent studies have successfully argued that it is in fact more harmful than previously thought towards the well-being of a growing child.

Such advertising creates bias within a young mind of a child. Rather than nurturing these children to be creative and have strategic thinking, it creates followers. Not only does advertising in schools expose kids to marketing for harmful products, it teaches students that everything is for sale. Research has shown that children who are exposed to excessive advertising face negative repercussions to their health, self-esteem, values, body-image, learning processes and personal development.

Similarly, marketing undermines critical thinking and derails public education's most important mission of helping children become active, thinking participants in a democratic society. Schools can either educate students to become good citizens or train them to become passive consumers. They can't do both.

In conclusion, at the outset, these schemes would have seemed like a good idea initially. But in the end, it is apparent they benefit only the agencies, while harming students and leaving school with little to show for their efforts.

It is my belief that kids are of course exposed to advertising all the time, but schools should not endorse and add to the constant marketing messages in kids’ lives which may be detrimental to their development towards a whole individual.