There are in my opinion, few reasons as to why this is so in the developed countries.

Firstly, in these developed countries the population is driven by their occupation and their standard of living. They believe in order to get ahead and be ahead with those from a lesser socio-economic background, they have to work extra hard and long hours at their workplaces. This has made most workaholics with little or rather no time dedicated towards physical health activities spending little or no time at a gym or a recreational centre.

Secondly, workplace peer pressure comes with immense mental stress in an attempt to meet deadlines. This can hinder an individuals physical health in turn. They may not realise it but the harm being done to the cardiovascular system, the blood vessels and blood pressure, the eyes and well as their limbs is detrimental to their overall physical health.

Furthermore, workplace related injuries due to prolonged sitting or standing or even slipping due to inattention can result in deterioration of physical health.

Therefore, despite the fact that there are many more modern therapies available for ailments within healthcare,due to the reasons I have discussed has led to a fall is physical health. This can come with huge costs to the individual as well as huge legal costs to employer if proven guilty.

In order to overcome this, the public should be made more aware of the problems of poor physical health and how to overcome such problems. Stepping up using the television, radio, newspapers, journals and social media educating the public of benefits of a healthy lifestyle is beneficial. Implementing minimum mandatory working hours and employers in my opinion should take up an active role in not overworking their employees.

Afterall, to be deemed healthy one requires to be in total equilibrium in all aspects of mental,physical and spiritual health.