Successful sports stars and glamorous film stars are a role model for youngsters. Do u support it or not? (Agree/Disagree)

Every country has its own sport superstars and glamorous film stars. We get to read about them, see them on television and follow them on social media like Twitter and Snapchat. However, using them as role models for youngsters is a much debated topic amongst journalists, scholars and educationists.

I am the of the strong opinion that while sports superstars are ideal role models for the younger generations, the same cannot be interpreted from glamorous film stars.

In a country like Australia, sports play an important role in all walks of life. People love sports and live by it. Every sport is played and followed with the utmost passion. Footy( National rugby league) and Origins, Australian football league(AFL), Rugby, Swimming, Formula 1 racing, Rowing, Tennis, Basketball Cycling and not forgetting Cricket has many talented players with a huge following. Children are introduced to sports in schools but primarily in the homefront by their parents or older siblings. By watching their favourite sport and their ever favourite sportsman inspires these young children to thrive on becoming the same iwhe they grow up. The efforts taken by Jonathan Thurston, Ian Thorpe, Gianne Rooney, Darren Lockyar, Mel Meninga, Daniel Ricciardo and certain cricketers like Allan Border, Ricky Ponting, Shane Warne and Michael Clerke by visiting schools, talking to the students and telling them how they did it and what it takes to become great sportsmen is truly commendable. Having greats like Jonathan Thurston and Patty Mills representing the indigenous population of Australia has inspired those from such ethnic backgrounds to seek careers in sport.

Similarly, many teenagers and adolescents who pursue a career in acting or the movies have glamorous film stars as their role models. However, it is an undeniable fact that most of these film stars are laced with controversy and scandal. Substance abuse, alcoholism, infidelity and corruption are some of the issues hovering celebrities making them improper role models to the young generation. They fail to realise beneath the glamour there is doom similar to the idiom 'everything that shines is not gold'. Still there are plenty that become blinded by this fake but glamorous lifestyle and end up being mislead.

In conclusion, children seeking ideal role models should be educated on the perils which accompany a famous movie star versus the hardship and dedication that requires to become a sports star. this will equip them with the necessary tools and skills to decide independently as to who should be their ideal star.