Scientist agree that people are damaging their health by eating too much junk food. Some people think that the answer to this problem is to educate people. Others think education will not work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the last few decades there has been an increased interest focused towards the food we eat. With more and more people becoming health conscious and concerned about what they eat, more and more research is being done of food and the effects it has on the human body.

Junk food has been a primary focus as there are so many fast food chains which offer affordable meals for the modern population on the go. Fast food chains have capitalised on this by making the meals more value for money. The establishment of ‘drive-through’, which cater for busy mums and dads wanting to feed their children quickly, has increased their revenue further.

Furthermore, realising we have a massive problem of unhealthy eating habits and obesity becoming an epidemic in many parts of the world, much effort has been taken to curb this problem at hand. Even though there are those who feel educating the public is the mainstay towards curbing this epidemic, there are others who fear otherwise saying ‘bad habits die hard’. The latter theory is true amongst families and communities of low socio-economic status. They lack the IQ and common sense to realise that certain food items which they ingest can harm them resulting in obesity, diabetes, atherosclerosis, hypertension and not forgetting cancer. They lead a sedentary life-style and health is a least of their priorities.

Jamie Oliver the celebrity chef was one of the first to address the issue of healthy eating. He was able to prove that there were no health benefits by eating a McDonald’s meal which was full of unwanted calories. As a result McDonald’s came up with the idea of McCafe and adding to their meals healthier, nutritious meals.

I feel targeting the television audience of eating healthy, exercising and going for regular health checks as well as making the public aware of the diseases that can result due to poor eating habits is a very strong medium for this purpose. By seeing these advertisements on a daily basis it becomes next to impossible for viewers to ignore the issues at hand and take the initiative to change the way they eat.