Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Discrimination against age is something we come across in everyday society. Workplace maybe where it is seen the most however, it can occur in any circumstance.

In a society where equality supervenes regardless of gender, colour or race, why not apply the same towards age? It is illegal when a female colleague sense she is being sexually harassed or being discriminated due to her sex. There are laws protecting these individuals regardless of the sex of the victim. Therefore, why cannot the same apply to discrimination against older workers?

The present younger generation can be ruthless towards older work colleagues. This may be because of the inexperience and arrogance they possess. Immaturity may be another reason. They simply believe as they are the fresh blood, they know best and better than anyone else. Little do they know you become better at what you do only with experience. They also forget that in order to learn the ropes of the trade, they need guidance and help from the older work colleagues. Without their guidance and support one may not achive the expected quality of work.

One must not forget the psychological impact it may have on the older victim. The stress of the unknown will lead to depression, loss of self esteem and in some instances even suicide.

Therefore, discrimination against older employees should be made illegal just as there are laws to protect against sexual assault at the workplace. This way the older generation will be motivated to work better without any fear of loosing their job, missing out on promotions and even not getting re-employed.

As the saying goes “Old is Gold”, urgent measures must be taken to protect the older generation as there is much to be learnt from their wisdom, knowledge and experience.