Making proper well thought choices is the key principle of success. Attending university is for sure one the key choices anyone should make. Thus, in some countries students are encouraged to take a year off after high-school before they proceed to do university studies. However, it is to be determined if this has a good impact on their lives. In this essay I am going to explore some of the major pros and cons of this idea.

Having a year off, undoubtedly helps the students to have enough time to explore their future choices, whether it is career or study opportunities. This means if they use this period wisely, they are to choose a more suitable future plan for themselves. This year, for instance can help them to realize they are more passionate about a different field of study or not persuading studies at all.

Secondly, by not studying for a year, they can gather all they energy and start fresh in university if they choose to advance their studies; and in case they did not choose to do so, they will benifit from a good year experience.

Turning to the other side of the argument, being away from strides may make more resistant to follow on university studies. Having experienced a year of travel or work, youngsters may feel the desire to avoid the trouble of future studies. For example, someone who has spent the last year traveling to other countries, for sure will have a hard time returning to study.

Another issue is that in spite all the benefits it provides, it may be harmful to those certain about their future path. In other words, to those who want to seek university studies, it may be a year wasted, a year that could have been their first in university.

In short, having a year off study after high-school can provide many advantages, including better decisions and more energy. However, people should pay much attention on how to utilize this period if they are ever to take it.