Celebrities live a different lifestyle from many people, a lifestyle with many benefits and drawbacks. This essay believes that the drawbacks of being a celebrity outweigh its advantages. It discusses the main pros, after considering the cons and comes to a reasoned conclusion.

For most people, financial gain is the most principle advantage in being famous. The majority of celebrities get paid huge amounts of money, even multiple times what skilled professionals like doctors and engineers gain. Being well-paid, celebrities are able to afford luxury cars, expensive houses and therefore live an easier life.

However, fame comes at a price of privacy issues for most of the celebrities. They are unable to enjoy day-to-day activities like normal people do. For example, they cannot dine in a normal restaurant because the crowd pays too much attention to them that they will get disturbed. Severance of these issues can be easily found in many of their interviews, or even in their songs, take 'a piece of me' by Britney Spears for example. This gets more serious when it comes to their safety. They should avoid many public places because simply there are not enough security measures to ensure their safety. These privacy and security issues, gotten worse by the advancement of technologies such as camera-enabled-cellphones, blogs, and social media, do not seem to go away soon.

In conclusion, despite the luxury lifestyle that celebrities living, being constantly watched and in fear for your life from lunatics does not seem to be very appealing.