Today’s children are living under more pressure from the society than children in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Write at least 350 words.

A different generation will be most affected by the change of the tides at each phase of our society. The generation in concern at the moment, according to certain arguments, is our youth, notably how much pressure is put on them. Though it must be mentioned that there are still some caveats to be addressed, which this article will discuss in depth, this consensus has been accepted by the mass, of which I am a part.

It should not be difficult to come up with an argument to support the statement, yet prejudice would be exercised if the hardships of past generations were not mentioned as well. Recognizing one's own advantage as a member of the youth, one should be able to realize that their forefathers had it far worse in terms of physical aspects such as money, food, clothing, and so on. All of them were far less plentiful previously than they are now, and they occupied much of the older generation's concern. Similarly, their stress level would surely be high in comparison to the "easier life" that today's youth have, which is true, but only on the surface level.

Dive further into human psychology, and it's evident why people came up with the idea in the first place: higher expectations. Because of the misconception that more resources equate to a better life, then better performance, a large portion of young people are at a disadvantage. First, the pipeline from enhanced quality of life to increased ability is not a pipeline at all; supporters of this theory leave out the bits and pieces that are societal change occurring concurrently, creating an ever-changing environment where challenges other than tangible ones take place. In actuality, the "bar" for academic accomplishment for all kids is being raised at a rate quicker than what the current generation, and most likely preceding ones as well, is accustomed to. Since teens are more likely to be diagnosed with stress, depression, anxiety, and similar conditions, which add to the burdens they already bear, mental health should be discussed as well. Naturally, the conclusion that the strain placed on children now is greater than it was in the past is supported by the convergence of all of these elements.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the difficulties that previous generations of children experienced, the demand on today's youngsters is undoubtedly felt far more strongly. Therefore, it is everyone's obligation to aid them in any capacity they can to alleviate some of this burden.