Virtual life on social media has become a parallel one with equal importance to the life in reality. What causes the phenomenon and is this a positive change?

Write an essay of about 350 words to support your opinion and support your answer with relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The existence of the Internet, alongside advancements made throughout history as a whole have shifted the way humans live their lives in quite a dramatic fashion. Now more than ever, emphasis is put on social media and its value, some individuals even reckoned that it rivals with that of real life. And despite the speckles of favorable traits which are founded, ultimately, it is not in the interest of the mass, to this I will divulge further in my essay.

Social media, being the buzzword as it is, has received many praisings over the years, thanks to its profound comfortness and convenience. More particularly, the platforms there provide people with tools to heighten connectedness at a level never seen before. Though as incredible as the trait before is, there are still more that social media provide, chiefly, the control over how one is portrayed. It is the ability to project whatever one wants to their social media page, so as to construct an image of them that they consider is their best version, that really show the attractiveness of the platform. However, such glitz and glamour hides the authentic ugliness that people usually avoid of real life, consequently conjuring up a fake façade many strive for. How unwise would one be to underestimate the power of social media in altering society’s mindset.

As can be inferred from my tone in the preceding paragraph, I do not align myself with the advocates for the growing influence of social media. Relying on something so easily fabricated, and by nature completely manipulatable, does not seem to be the best of ideas, at least that is in my honest opinion. It is quite disheartening to see the trend of virtualization infiltrates our lifestyles and viewpoint, amongst other aspects. In retrospect, one would probably not be able to predict the rapid growth of social media, much less their ability to resist its allure. Nevertheless, it is in my stoic belief, and hopefully others too, that social media will and should never be able to compete with real life.

In conclusion, people are not too far off their mind when they enjoy what social media has to offer. And while it is unfair to regard implementing social media as a step in the wrong direction, it surely is not something our society should be working towards majorly acclimating to.