Today’s schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

There are contrasting opinions whether youngsters need to be taught financial affairs. While some may question the idea, I completely agree that this kind of schemes would be beneficiary to the students and the society as a whole.

Learning variety of essential skills at schools certainly guarantees a prosperous future and monetarily issues are not exception. Pupils spend a share amount of their time at schools which is expected to be fruitful not merely memorizing theoretical knowledge. Furthermore, students and their parents cannot find more reliable person than pedagogues to patiently work with students solely for the purpose of teaching financial fulfillment. For example, School can provide systematic approaches of tackling monetary issues as they do with other subjects. In addition to that, offering these courses may absorb even more students than before as they see the programs more practical and probably reduce truancy. Finally as students are not responsible for family income, the learning process will be less stressful and more like a game through which the importance of money management is taught.

Detractor of the opinion may say that these programs may undermine other subjects like art and music. They may be right but if we want to prioritize subjects according to their extent of influence on children’s future, financially fulfilled people will be more desirable. This proposition, however, does not intend to question the value of art and literature. Unnecessary stress is another matter of objection which is true if school children are required to make profit. But the programs aim for teaching the same as children are taught biology but no one is expected to be a biologist.

In conclusion, in my view, essentially of financial matters requires schools to prepare the youth for better and more efficient approaches of dealing with financial issues.