In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters, and writers. What can the arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

Artists such as musicians, painters and writers still receive much appreciation, despite the dominance of science and technology in modern times. The reason is that the arts can teach us about specific aspects of life, which technology or science cannot explain.

Firstly, arts can keep people’s emotions alive throughout the years, which science and technology could not. Through some art forms such as music and films, individuals could express their feelings and wishes in the past until now. For example, many patriotic songs were written to ignite the spirits of Vietnamese people to fight against invasion during war times. Until today, listening to the old song can bring back a sense of pride for the Vietnamese because it reminds them of the hardships before establishing peace.

Secondly, arts can reflect the overlooked aspects of life, which science could never. Artists tend to utilize many art forms such as songs, movies or pictures to imply the hidden beauty of life to viewers. This means that people could be able to appreciate the world more by realizing the values of art pieces. For instance, looking at a painting of the night sky can bring people a sense of appreciation to the scenery that they have never paid attention to. Technological machines, however, can only replicate the painting in terms of details not implications.

In conclusion, although advanced science and technology play an important part in modern life, they are unable to teach people to appreciate the forgotten beauty of life and express emotions throughout a long period like the arts.