Today, TV channels provide man’s sport shows more than women’s sports shows, why? Should TV channels give equal time to women’s sport and men’s sport?

Though society is now called democratic, chauvinism still exists, and that explains why television is fraught with male sports programs. Some emphasize the economic value, arguing that female sports programs are less attractive and generate less revenue. Because men are masculine, muscular and charismatic, they definitely attract more viewers, including women themselves, and any male sports show is bound to impress a mass audience.

Meanwhile, women, because of their responsibilities as housewives and social workers, hardly manage to watch sports, let alone participate in them. Critics go so far as to say that women’s engagement in sports and equitable appearance in the media are unnecessary and distract them from fulfilling the roles of true mothers and social workers. Not only will governments have to invest a huge amount of money in the creation of suitable female sports programs on television, but a number of women are also likely to start being addicted to gambling owing to being fans of their own shows.

It is, however, high time that the entire world acknowledges the importance of women in sports. Notwithstanding that many people claim that egalitarianism prevails in society, women are still looked down on by men when joining predominantly male sports like football, basketball, etc. Governments, for that reason, should launch media campaigns awakening society to the reality of female participation in sports with outstandingly strong and beautiful ladies actually appealing to millions of viewers worldwide. Undeniably, women who are as intelligent, energetic and physically agile as men can even come up with creative ideas to revolutionize sports. The world of sports on television may become far more interesting than it is now once women equal men in the amount of airtime.