In today's competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents to go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents' absence.

In the past, it was a costume for the father to be the only earner of the family, while the mother stayed home taking care of the children and the household. In modern times, though, this costume changed drastically, not only because women gained the same right as men to work, but because many parents find it necessary to have two incomes in order to sustain the family. Whilst the additional income may bring financial security and benefits to everyone, especially the children, there are several drawbacks that cannot be overlooked. while some families can choose to have only one working parent, some others have to have both parents earning an income because of the circumstances. Surely, kids benefit from the enlarged economic possibilities of their family: more toys, experiences to make, vacations to go to. On the other hand, children have to be taken care of by someone else and might feel abandoned by their parents not being always there for them. it is also proven that children whose parents are not always at home have more behavioral problems. For instance, while I grew up with my mother always being home with me, my little sister didn't, because our mom had to go back to work to provide for the enlarged family. In turn, my sister has to battle with her insecurity of being unwanted and tries to seek the attention of her teacher by behaving badly in the class. Given these points, there is no need for both parents to be working and not be there for their kids while they grow up unless it is strictly necessary. while the additional income benefits the children, the presence of a mother or father will be the best for the children's well being in the long run.