Too much emphasis is placed on going university for academic study. People should be encouraged to do vocational training, because there is a lack of qualified tradespeople such as electricians or plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that entering university for academic field plays an important role in many young people. While I accept that this may suit for many people, I believe that we should encourage more people to become professional manual works like electricians or plumbers.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why many students choose the universities or colleges to study. Firstly, they can broaden their own knowledge in terms of the law, finance and banking. As they have countless opportunities to learn several supported subjects around their specialization, they will be relatively confident in society. Secondly, they will have the higher career choices to choose a good job compared to vocational students. The prime example for this is Vietnamese university students, he can graduate with a bachelor’s degree in banking, but he still is an employee as an accountant or a tax officer.

On the other hand, people should be promoted to attend vocational training classes because of some reasons. One reason is that they can start their professional careers sooner than their fellows. To be specific, while college students have to commit at least 3 years to graduate, vocational schools take only 1 to 2 years for students to receive certain specialised certifications and apply this sort of knowledge to earn a living. In addition, in many countries, there is an existing imbalance in the economy, resulting in graduate unemployment, compared to at the same time there is a shortage of skilled labour. Hence, governments in those countries should provide extra vocational training courses to create essential manual workers.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that studying in the university to pursue academic study is one of the paths to success, but this is by no means vocational education should not be encouraged to develop.