Education has been vitally indispensable since the very past decades. Among all the stage of education in different age categories, universities play the most important role to human beings. However, certain students tend to spend a gap year for work or travel after graduating from high school. From my perspective, I opine that the merits of taking a gap year between high school and higher education far outweigh the demerits of it. The reasons for my viewpoint would be shed light on in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, traveling abroad in a gap year enables the students to broaden their horizons and become more mentally mature. Students could grasp the opportunities to experience and appreciate various cultures by traveling around the world. Taking my own experience for example, during the period when I traveled to Britain, I expose myself to tremendously distinct cultures in United Kingdom, regardless of food, buildings, religions, and so forth. In that case, not only could I acquire the knowledge about the exotic cultures, but also learn to respect and appreciate different cultures in different nations.

On the other hand, some students have a tendency to spend their time working in a gap year before entering to the universities. This can not merely benefit their future employment, but also pave the way for the successful prospect career. To demonstrate, since the capability of communication and interaction are essential to human in any fields of work, students who engage in working would have great opportunities to cultivate these abilities, and therefore, lead to a successful employment career.

Nonetheless, taking a gap year may inflict adverse effects on students. The students might trail behind their classmates in the academic performance without studying at universities. This not only wastes their valuable life time, but also makes their academic career more challenging. A case in point is that many students in Taiwan participate in working holidays before universities. In this situation, those students usually encounter frustration of incapable of keeping the pace with other peers because they have not studied for one year.

By way of conclusion, as argued above, even though there are disadvantages in taking a gap year before the higher education, I firmly believe that it is worthwhile to spend a year working or traveling by virtue of the advantages it brings.