Topic 9: It is generally acknowledged that families are now not as close as they used to be. Give possible reasons and your recommendations.

In comparison with the recent past, the relationship between family members is becoming less and less relevant. There are several reasons which can be identified to account for this unfortunate development, but I believe that there are effective measures can be implemented to address the weakness of family ties.

The primary reason is that the family get-together has shrunk. People are increasingly moving to another city or country because of work, study or simply in search of a better life. While it is possible to keep in touch through communication means, an email or phone call is not equal to face-to-face interaction. As a result, the importance of bonds of kinship is gradually fading from their minds. Another significant cause of this trend is the addiction to electronic gadgets. This contemporary world drives people to become technophile. For example, family members spend their free time surfing the Internet or playing video games rather than talking to other members.

In view of such alienation within families, urgent steps must be taken, in my opinion. For members of families who live away from one another, regular contact on the phone can bring them the care that they need. Family ties can be maintained and strengthened by commitment with love. Take time to do what other family members would like or commit time to finding the right methods that will create a stronger bond.

In conclusion, there are some obvious reasons why family relationships today have been weakened. However, I believe that a close family relationship can surely be maintained as long as we realise the significant role of it in our lives. Instead of confining ourselves to our space, we must come out of it and let others in too.