Topic: Everyone should stay at school until 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether students should complete compulsory education until the age of 18 or not. While I agree that youngsters can reap many benefits from continuing studying at high schools, I believe that this should not apply to all young people.

There are many reasons why students should not leave school early. Firstly, by studying at high schools, students could gain a huge amount of knowledge and skills to meet higher-level qualifications. Due to the competitive job market, it is impossible for students with no degree to compete with well-educated students. Those who graduate from high school can have better chances of having decent jobs and accessing to tertiaty education in the future. Secondly, schools also provide social and moral education, which is of great importance to teenagers. Because people under 18 are not often mature enough to distinguish between right and wrong behaviors, they could easily commit crimes if they were not educated well enough.

However, it is unreasonable to make school compulsory until 18. It is a waste of time and money for those who dislike academic subjects. For example, some students have no interest in high school maths and science and want to enter the job market or go traveling. If they were required to study at school, they would not make an effort to study; therefore, they would end up with no achievement and no performance in class. Another reason is that some occupations like chiefs and hairdressers are not usually expected a high school qualification. If they want to be the outstanding ones in their fields later, they will need to start a professional training with specialists at their early ages without waiting until turning eighteen.

In conclusion, lengthen compulsory schooling to 18 could be beneficial, I contend that this would affect non-academic students.