Topic: many people put their personal information online (address, telephone, number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that the advancement of technology has shifted human behaviours in an unprecedented way. Such changes can be seen in the way people record and exchange their personal data due to the introduction of the internet. Personally, this trend has exerted both positive and negative effects on our society.

On the one hand, online platforms have become a breeding ground for criminal activities. Since people have switched from physical to virtual data storage for information such as addresses, phone numbers, passwords, they are more prone to cybercriminals. These frauds exploit and steal user's information for illicit purposes like stealing their deposit, selling their data. For example, recently, Facebook, one of the largest online platforms, has to face lawsuits for leaking personal data of over 500 million users on hacking forums. That is to say, the more information people post online, the more susceptible they are to sophisticated hacking schemes.

On the flip side, online information records have many advantages to offer. First and foremost, social networks have removed the geographic boundaries and helped people stay connected just by signing up with personal data. This innovation has facilitated many businesses and individuals in exchanging information instantly and avoiding work stagnant. Secondly, the advent of online banking has free people from time-consuming procedures at the banks as they can transfer money despite times. Additionally, by synchronising personal details with exclusive accounts, shoppers can have a superior experience just at their fingertips. This is clearly exemplified under the Covid-19 lockdown situation when people switch from physical stores to virtual commerce which makes more convenient online purchases and payments. Thus, the whole economy can remain moving without risking people's health.

In conclusion, as long as people are highly aware of the risk of cybercrimes when updating personal information, the developments in storing personal information online hold some undeniable merits that have been applied widely.