Topic: In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals as food or to use animal products, for example clothing and medicines.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people believe that animals are not essential anymore in demand for food and production. Honestly, I disagree with this statement because people are still in great demand for animals in many fields, particularly in food and pharmaceutical manufacturing. However, the advance in science today can help reduce human uses of animals in the clothing industry.

On the one hand, it can not be denied that animals play a crucial role in different areas of human life, especially in the production of food and medicines. Firstly, human demand for food produced from animals such as meat or fish has shown no sign of reduction in the past decade because animals are believed to be a nutritious source when they provide proteins and nutrients for human growth. If animals are not used as food, all humans must practice vegetarianism and veganism for the nourishment and this is simply impossible. Moreover, some animals can be the suitable subjects in the research of manufacturing medicines. After thousands of research in the field of zoology, scientists realized that there are various biological similarities between animals and humans, which is an important factor in pharmaceutical preparation. Therefore, testing the effectiveness and safety of newly discovered cure or medicines on animals is necessary because it would be impractical and unethical if scientists carry out the experiments on humans.

On the other hand, using animals in producing fashion products such as clothes, hats and bags is considered as an unethical activity and was banned by the law for a long time, while there are still many illegal hunting activities to serve the needs of human clothing. However, thanks to the advantages of innovation and the discovery of artificial materials like artificial leather in the clothing industry, the use of animals such as fur and skin in manufacturing clothes and bags has decreased in recent years.

In conclusion, animals are still in great demand for humans in producing food and curing health problems. Nevertheless, human uses of animals can be altered by other artificial materials thanks to the innovation of science, especially in the clothing industry.