Some people think that sports play an important role in the development of society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sports, nowadays, are becoming popular to humans and they also raise a controversial issue in modern society. Some people hold the opinion that it is critical to play sports because of various benefits they bring, while there are some opposite perspectives that sports are just activities serving humans’ entertainment. These different views are discussed in this essay and my opinion is given based on the discussion.

In the development of society, the living standard of people is getting improved which means

they are responsible to work hard to satisfy their desires and family as well. Therefore, they put more concentration on their work and their family than sports which are considered leisure activities. For them, earning a living is more meaningful than sports because these activities can not meet their basic needs and other demands for their family which salary can afford. In other words, time is too important for those who are workaholics so that sports are unnecessary in their life.

In contrast, it is more convincing to give the opinion that sports play an essential role in people’s life. One of the benefits sports bring to people is that these activities can help people to improve their health and strengthen resistance, especially in Covid 19 pandemic period. The fact that practicing sports play an effective function in blood circulation helps reduce stress and the risk of heart attack as well so that people have more energy for more productive work. Furthermore, sports contribute to developing tourism and commerce of a nation by the huge profit many sporting events bring about. It is undeniable that sporting events generate tremendous financial wealth for many countries which are famous for the sport industry.

In conclusion, although for many people sports play a less important role in their life than earning a living, they still are dispensable because of the advantages about health and profit for the national economy they bring back.