It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

In the era of development, the education for children on how to distinguish right and wrong behaviour at an early age is dispensable and punishment is believed to play an important role in this distinction. Despite the advantage of punishment, it is more convincing to argue that the negative effects it brings outweigh the benefit. Moreover, some suitable methods for adults to punish children will be suggested.

Punishment can be considered a quick and traditional method for parents and teachers to educate their children on realizing whether their behaviour is right or wrong so that they can repair their mistakes. One illustration for that is every school has rules which are corresponding to punishments. In other words, when students break the rules, like being late at school, they are responsible for their mistake by being disciplined with the penalty school imposed. Hence, due to the fear of being punished, students tend to comply with the right things and stay away from negative behaviours.

However, punishing children during their childhood might result in various deleterious influences on their cognitive process, which directly affect their behaviour in the future. A notable disadvantage is that it is able to be a mental barrier for adolescents so that they are afraid of experiencing new things. Being punished regularly at an early age, children have grown up with the fear of making mistakes that lead to their discouragement when facing difficulty. Furthermore, wrong measures of discipline can cause frustration from children to their parents. Because of the immaturity of teenagers, they usually consider their actions always right and against their parents regardless of the harms with the view of proving themselves to adults.

In conclusion, although punishment is inevitable in education, the deleterious sides related to the mental health of children it brings back still outstrip its advantage. Therefore, adults should consider and adjust measures of discipline they apply in order to be suitable to their child’s characteristics.