Topic: Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, feel that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people claim that sport is a crucial part of society, whereas others state that it is primarily for recreational purposes. Both sides of the debate will be discussed and my own perspective expressed in this essay.

On the one hand, sport is indeed a leisure activity for the majority of people in community. This is obviously because not so many people play sports professionally, so sports are viewed as a medium for gaining enjoyment, but not financial benefits. Therefore, although sport can be competitive, it often acts as a means of deriving pleasure and unwinding from stresses and strains of work or studies. Additionally, many people usually partake in sporting activities once their own time budget allows them to do so. Take students playing outdoor sports such as football or basketball at recess as an example. Despite the fact that the subject of physical education is taught in most schools, students still engage in these fitness activities in spare time of their own volition.

On the other hand, I concur with the opinion that sports play a vital role in our lives. Firstly, sport is one of, if not to say the best method to boost both mental and physical conditions. As players exercise, stamina, agility and immune system could be strengthened, thus assisting them to avoid the risks of health issues including diabetes or obesity. Besides, doing sport is an effective stress-reliever since it releases oxytocin - a hormone with the function of combating anxiety and depression. Secondly, people can form communities with counterparts having similar interests by taking part in or merely watching sports events. In fact, sport enthusiasts’ clubs help people of all ages stay connected together and also harbor the spirit of sportsmanship.

In conclusion, although in most cases, sports are referred to a pastime, I still hold a belief that they offer more enormous advantages as regards health enhancement and communal rapport.