Most people say that using cultural traditions for tourism purposes will damage their value. There is also a school of thought that this is the only way to protect and develop them. In my opinion, both views are true to a certain extent.

From my perspective, the use of cultural traditions in tourism brings many negative impacts. To begin with, when traditional cultures are used for tourism purposes, many sacred sites are heavily damaged by the irresponsible behaviors of tourists. For example, they draw graffiti on famous structures such as the symbol of the hand on the Golden Bridge on the top of Ba Na - Da Nang. Besides, being lured by the power of money, many traditional customs can be totally adapted to suit tourists’ demands this loses the original beauty and value of these traditions. For example, Vietnamese traditional dances such as the lion dance, which were traditionally performed by martial artists during special occasions, but now, it is often performed by amateurs at tourist sites across the country. Such changes not only give foreign visitors a false impression but can also make the dance less meaningful to the local people. Such changes give tourists the wrong impression, losing the original meaning of the dance.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why monetizing from cultural traditions is the only way to protect them. First, when these cultural values are used for tourism, more people around the world will know the unique cultural characteristics of each region, which makes people have a well up on general knowledge. Furthermore, to make these cultural objects usable in tourism, government constructs museums and galleries to display cultural traditions, this brings many positive aspects. It can both generate profits when people visit, help people have more understanding of cultural traditions, and also preserve, and protect such traditions.

In conclusion, while some argue that using cultural traditions for tourism has many negative impacts on their value, I hold the belief that it still has many positive aspects.