Topic: They only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the only effective measure to make the traffic safely is imposing harsher punishments on drivers who violate the laws. However, this essay disagrees with this statement because punishing more severely on commuters is only one of the effective solutions and other options such as raising the legal age of drivers or installing speed cameras should be added to reduce traffic accidents.

It is true that strict fines on traffic offenses are necessary to adopt as a deterrent to motorists to disobey the laws. It is because drivers should think twice about the serious consequences if they violate the traffic regulations. They can lose their driving licenses, pay for the heavy fines and go to jail if they commit a driving offense. For instance, driving under the influence of alcohol in Vietnam could be fined up to 30 million VNDs, lose driving licenses and charged up to 10 years in prison. This strict regulation helps to lower the number of alcohol-related accidents in Vietnam by 30% in 2017.

However, the government and local authorities should also look at the other effective measures to increase safety for commuters because it should be better to prevent drivers to commit traffic violations than to punish them. There are many proven methods to reduce the collisions on the roads such as increasing the age of people who can drive or installing speed cameras to control automatically speed limits. Australia has adopted these options successfully from 2010. By raising the legal age to drive to 21 years old and imposing speed cameras on every road, they have reduced the number of traffic accidents by 40% in 2015.

In conclusion, imposing stricter penalties to drivers who disobey the regulations is not the only solution to improve safety on the roads and an integrated approach which is including increasing the legal age of drivers and using speed cameras should be adopted to curb road offenses.