The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts on families and societies?

Family traditions are the established habits to do something with family. However, modern life-style and opportunities are disrupting those traditions, especially food related ones, because of variety of services society provides.

First of all, current capitalistic society offers a wide range of food choises. For instance, variety of food outlets that people use to eat out. As a result, significant amount of people become fussy eaters that can not meet satisfy their needs during family feasts.

Furthermore, the development of fast food industry is one of the main contributing factors. Most of the society have hectic work schedule that leaves people with little or no time for other daily needs. Consequently, to preserve time people resort to prepared meals, instead of ordinary food. Take for example residents of megapolises, where traffic conjunctions and high competition among workers attributes to insufficiency of time. Moreover, different skills like culinary suffer from such schedule and result in willingness to eat outside of home.

Apart from that, tendency of keeping traditions generally decreases, despite of hectic work schedule or variety of food in this case. The attitude towards traditions is governed by developing facilities and unnediness of traditions. A good example would be set of different traditions that had functions in the past, but are not vital in modern world, like eating together with whole family. An expected outcome is decrease in the quantity of traditions that are past on to younger generations.

As a whole, modern lifestyle affects the appreciation of family values and the way younger generations perceive them. Hence, people become more self reserved and feeble the bond with not only their relatives, but also with the rest of the world, which might result in losing opportunities and individualistic society.