The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts on families and societies?

Traditionally families tend to gather at dining-room table during the meal time, which is an incredibly useful opportunity to cherish family values and, moreover, to bond stronger with each other. In most cases, this tradition is attributable to round-table discussions within the family. However, the custom is vanishing in the recent time, mostly due to appearance of other ways to feed well, especially outside the home, and the steering life. As a result, family values weaken and the gap between members widens.

Increasingly, the tradition of family occasions is disappearing primarily owing to spreading of small food outlets. For example, if a person is starving, they would rather purchase fast-cooked street food on the way. With the arrival to home, there would be thus no need in family feasts. Another contributing factor is hectic work schedule of members, which may not even coincide with each other. Buy a consequence, people are exhausted by intensive work and resort to prepared meals, trying to avoid cooking efforts as far as possible.

All these reasons are responsible for rise of various problems in family and society. Over centuries, Family Feud have been occasions for keeping some cultural traditions, in Eastern countries particularly. For instance, tea ceremony is the brightest custom where respect for older people is shown. Because of disappearing of traditional occasions, next generations may not experience such outstanding respectful attitude to work each other. Furthermore, trust and mutual understanding between members loosen. The opportunity to pass some values on to younger generation might be missed subsequently. Within the society, this directly affects establishing relationships between people and treatment of each other. For example, people can behave outrageously in the public places, in particular, when they eat out in restaurant.

On the whole, family traditions to get together is abandoning due to availability of fast food industry and strain in work. In the result, it leads to weaker relationships within the society and depreciation of family values. Nevertheless, if the awareness of this issue will be raised, the gravity of tradition will become even higher.