The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It is true that traditional family mealtime is becoming a thing of the past. There are a number of reasons behind this trend, which could lead to several negative consequences on both individuals and societies.

There are various reasons why families tend to spend less time eating together these days. Firstly, many young people nowadays no longer live with their family for study or working reasons. They migrate from countryside to cities where they are more likely to find well-paid jobs or choose to study at a foreign institution which can offer better courses in order to gain more valuable qualifications. Secondly, many parents usually have to work overtime until midnight due to the increasing hectic life and the growing costs of living, whereas their children are forced to study not only at schools but also in private centers in order to supplement skills and knowledge. As the result, they rarely have time eating together and there are many situations where their schedules even conflict.

A variety of related problems could be caused by this tendency. The main issue is that the absence of family meals could be connected to loose relationships between family members because people usually share emotions and discuss their own stories and difficulties that they have to face during meal time. In addition, this may even cause generation gap when grandparents and parents misunderstand their children. Another problem is the loss of underlying meaning of cultural and traditional events of a nation. For example, in traditional holidays such as Tet holiday, many people tend to prioritize their private space and choose to travel alone or with their friends rather than have meals with their family.

In conclusion, there are different reasons for the gradual disappearance of traditional mealtime involved all family members, and this could have many negative effects.