The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts of this trend?

these days, family members seem to spend less time eating with each other. In my view, there are many reasons behind this phenomenon, and many drawbacks have resulted from this trend.

Personally, the disappearance of eating together within a family can be attributed to two main reasons. First, due to the advance of technology and media, children are tempted to appealing tv programs or the internet, so they are impatient to sit in the desk and have meals with their families. Consequently, many indulgent parents might allow them to eat in front of tv or computer so that they can be entertained simultaneously. In addition to this, there is a remarkable increase in single-parent households who are too occupied with their work or social relationships. Therefore, those parents do not have enough time to prepare home-cooked meals and enjoy them with their offspring.

Unfortunately, two major negative outcomes can be anticipated from this trend. In terms of family connection, spending mealtime together is a stable routine, which is a fundamental factor for a close-knit family. During the meals, parents could educate their children about moral lessons, or family members would be able to share their stories and experiences, enabling them to bond their relationships. With regard to health, when children are permitted to eat alone, they might choose to eat junk food from fast food chains, which are usually children’s favorite dishes. In fact, these foods contain a large amount of chemical substances and cholesterol, which lead to many health problems for kids such as obesity or hyperactivity. By having meals together, people could ensure their families to have well-balanced diets from nutritious home-made food.

In conclusion, I am convinced that people no longer enjoy meals with their family owing to the parents’ hectic schedule and students’ interest in tv or internet, and this trend can resulted in many serious effects on the family