The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

A family get-together meal is very important in our tradition. However, that traditional habit is fading significantly due to many motives and it also leads to numerous adverse consequences.

There are two main factors why family members do not prefer having meals together than in the past. Firstly, due to different working environments that people have their own eating habits. In fact, under the pressure of money, people have to work far from home, work overtime or even night shift; therefore, hardly can they find time to come back home to have lunch or dinner with their parents or spouses. Moreover, to maintain outside relationships such as co-workers, customers or friends, having meals in restaurants is a far more popular choice. Secondly, thanks to the popularity of technological devices like TV, computer, mobile phone and the like that children have various activities to do while enjoying meals. Eating in front of the TV is more interesting than spending time with parents. Consequently, family meals are becoming a less favorable choice in their daily life.

This concerning problem would cause serious results to the family’s life and the development of kids as well. From the family’s life viewpoint, having fewer family meals will break the bond among members. Parents and children or siblings do not have enough time and opportunities to develop closed and emotional relationship. Moreover, children’s personality development is also influenced negatively. If their parents show a careless attitude towards family bonding, those patterns of behavior will be definitely copied to them. In terms of the next generation’s health, it is easier for them to become couch potatoes. Having stomach ache or obesity is also a result of the above bad habit.

In conclusion, the decline in numbers of family meals, which is caused by several mentioned reasons has resulted in many detrimental consequences. Modern parents should spend more time on cooking and having meals together in order to educate their kids into fully developed citizens.