Traffic and accommodation problems are increasing and governments should encourage businesses to move from cities to rural areas. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

In many metropolises, the severe traffic and housing problems are reaching an alarming level, which needs the solutions from the government. It is believed that authorities should incentivize corporations to resettle their company in the countryside. Such a measure has its own merits and downsides.

As a matter of fact, the encouragement in relocating firms from conurbations to sparsely-populated areas has some noteworthy benefits. Initially, the reestablishment of businesses is closely associated with alleviation of burden related to public infrastructure. It is because there are lots of spaces available for the construction of more houses and factories, thereby diminishing the level of air pollution stemmed from manufacturing activities. Another advantage would be that local economy is motivated to develop due to this measure. The more companies established in rural areas, the more occupational opportunities dispensed to the cheap workforce. Therefore, local people might have chance to lead their own better lives.

Nevertheless, there are numerous drawbacks that need to be taken into consideration. First and foremost, this may be a penalty toward enterprises’ financial status. It is often the case that relocating a business to countryside restricts the access to its mainstream markets, material suppliers as well as network of partners, which contributes to the decline of its revenue and productivity. Furthermore, reestablishment puts firms at a risk of extra expenditure such as extravagant costs of construction, operation and recruitment new manpower.

In conclusion, this solution is worth considering to improve current situation. However, there are pros and cons of implementing such a policy.