Traffic and housing problems could be solved by moving large companies, factories and their employees to the countryside. Do you agree or disagree?

To tackle the problems of traffic congestion and the shortage of housing, it is suggested that large companies and factories in major cities should be relocated to the rural area. I think this policy can be difficult to implement, with possible objections and negative outcomes.

The strategy of business relocation seems to be infeasible, considering the negative outcomes that may cause. Firstly, the public transportation network in the countryside might be extremely poor or even not be covered. It is not practical for people to rely on the public transportation daily. In this case, people might prefer to drive private cars to work, and it would unexpectedly impose a heavy burden on the road transportation. For instance, the rural infrastructure is relatively backward and life is less convenient. People need to travel between the countryside and the city frequently, leading to new traffic problems

Secondly, it might affect the business benefits of the companies. Some companies might rely on the regional clients and suppliers. In this case, relocation might lead to loss of customers and increase the cost of the product. It may impact the sales of some companies whose customers mainly come from the urban area. Also, the employees may reject to move to the countryside, as they can no longer enjoy the high-quality educational resources, medical services and entertainment facilities in the city. For example, the recent survey done by Ministry of urban development shows that 75% of people in rural areas want to migrate to urban areas because of better basic amenities available in the city.

In conclusion, some people say that traffic congestion and the shortage of housing could be tackled by relocating companies and employees to the rural areas, but in my opinion, it does not effectively solve the problem and might trigger other side effects.