Traffic and housing problems could be solved by moving large companies, factories and their employees to the countryside. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, migrating to big cities has been becoming a trend as people from different areas looking for life-changing opportunities, thus causing many inconveniences such as lack of housing supply and traffic jam. There are comments for that by relocating large businesses, including their factories and employees, to rural regions, these issues can be properly addressed. In my perspective, I agree with this view, however, some other initiatives should be implemented at the same time if we expect to solve traffic and housing problems effectively.

Moving businesses and their facilities to the countryside will decrease urban population substantially, as successful companies, such as Apple, provide work for thousands of people, will relieve pressure on urban housing supply systems. Another apparent advantage of a decreased population is lower flows of traffic which help reduce traffic congestion. For example, most people prefer privately owned vehicles because they are more comfortable, faster and more flexible for doing multiple tasks on one trip than almost any form of public transport, which results in endless daily traffic jams like Los Angeles at 5.00 PM. Therefore, if big companies are based in a rural area and offer accommodation to their employees near their workplace, this will no longer be the case.

Nonetheless, I think that the mentioned problems are complicated and can only be addressed completely by the introduction of some other measures. One of the main causes of traffic congestion is the narrow road system that does not provide enough travel needs of the people. So, building wider roads and motorways will allow a greater number of vehicles moving, both private and public, and thence will lessen traffic jam. Housing projects should be focused on building to meet the demand of residents.

In conclusion, I agree that relocating businesses in the countryside is one way to deal with traffic and housing problems. I also believe that we need a combination of this approach and a number of other actions, as listed above, to tackle these problems in a more comprehensive manner.