Nowadays, it is obvious that the congestion in most countries is on the increase and cities are becoming busier. In my opinion, this problem must be tackled because it is a global issue and most people, especially who live in big cities, are affected by it.

One of the main causes of traffic jams is that the majority of people prefer using their own cars instead of public transportation. However, it is not impossible to find good and effective ways to control the congestion. Public transportation is the easiest way to solve this problem. If there is comfortable and cheap public transportation such as trains and buses, people will choose to use it rather than drive. For instance, in Manchester, Stagecoach buses are the most convenient buses that help to reduce the traffic on road sand streets during rush hours. In fact, governments should provide much better public transportation and charge prices that are affordable for everyone.

Another solution to solve the traffic problem is to charge a congestion fee for every car that will go into a city centre. This will either discourage people from driving into that area, or raise more money for public transportation. A good example of this situation is London, which now has a congestion charge. Going to the cityc entre in London costs about £8 per day.

In conclusion, the problem of traffic congestion can be tackled by improving public transportation and by charging drivers who enter city centres.