It is generally accepted that increased car use made a significant problem in big cities. Metropolitans such as Tokyo or New York are experiencing major environmental and economic problems in relation to increased automobile use. Therefore, it is commonly acknowledged that fewer vehicle uses and public transport oriented urban development would decrease the above-mentioned problems. These solutions will be discussed in this order.

Firstly, a very important factor that leads to traffic congestion is increased vehicle use. Today, automobile dependency is a concept that is of special importance. Take Tehran as an example, people consider automobiles as a power symbol and a sign shows their social level. Subsequently, it is preferred to use automobile and traffic generated due to excessive use of vehicles would force city managers to build more roads. And this cycle continues to increase the overall traffic congestion. This problem can be solved by increasing social awareness of the environmental impacts of dependency on the automobile. Thus, using other modes of transportation except cars can solve the problem of traffic to some extent.

On the other hand, city development based on public transport would have a significant effect on less automobile use. for instance, most European countries benefit from mixed land use. surprisingly, it is agreed that most people in Europe prefer to use the train for their city daily trips. So It is clear that urban design strategies would contribute to fewer traffic problems. Therefore, city managers should apply advanced planning methods to decrease traffic problems.

Following the analyzation of the effect of fewer car use and city decision maker's strategies, it is clear that the cooperation of people and authorities would lead to solving this problem. It is hoped that both sides make enough effort to solve this serious problem.