Transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today.

What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

Transport is an indispensable part of urban life, but its postponements and lengthy journeys are taking place more and more widely. To those who are concerned, there appear to be two main causes, and possible solutions should be put forward to mitigate this problem.

There are two main causes, one of which is perhaps the deficiency of investment in infrastructure in the form of high-capacity public transport and increased road space for private vehicles. Too many modes of transport use the same existing network, so traffic congestion is inevitable. This is a common sight in mega cities globally, such as London, Bangkok or Tokyo. The other justification seems to be overpopulation in urban areas, where they migrate to and settle in; this puts a strain on transportation capacity. For example, Ho Chi Minh city – one of the economic hotspot in Vietnam – every day witnesses numerous flows of vehicles and commuters travel on municipal roads pushing the stretched transport system to its limit and even deterioration in a brief time.

Extreme problems demand urgent measures; probably the main remedy would be to encourage investment in better transport infrastructure. This could be done in many ways, through governmental incentives or public-private partnerships Not only is the overall transport network enhanced, but a sense of civic pride is also fostered, to everyone’s benefit. Another solution is to motivate distance working in companies so that there is less need to commute from suburbs to the inner city. Western countries are pioneers to have implemented remote work in large cities, which reduces the frequency of vehicle travelling during peak hours on a daily basis. This practice is strongly approved by their governments and greatly welcomed by numerous citizens.

In conclusion, a lack of transport investment and overcrowding are the two main reasons for traffic problems. The would-be solutions include investment boosts and distance working application.