The trend of online shopping is increasing significantly. What effect does it have on the environment and society in general?

Technology is “ boon and bane” for human beings in this high- tech epoch. Presently, most of masses are passionate in order to buy distinct kinds of things through online shopping. Therefore, the trend of e- shopping is gaining prevalence swiftly all over the world. Here, I would like to account for effects of this happening on the environment and society.

There are manifold negative outcomes of this trend on the community. First and foremost, people attain an opportunity in order to become extravagant if they purchase products by e-shopping. For example, nowadays, majority of top level national and multinational companies promote their products by several shopping sites such as amazon, jabong ,flipkart and so on. Hence, the majority of folks have tendency to visit online shopping sites and buy branded and astonishing products. As a result, people not only expend a large amount of money but also show their materialistic status in the society. Besides this, providing a great deal of discount on products by manufacturing industries through shopping sites allure people to buy unnecessary things in this jet-age of 21st century. Thence, online shopping services play a phenomenal role in order to make people spendthrift these days.

Multifarious points can be put down in this phenomena, the ratio of quality environment has been degraded due to rubbish such as plastic bags, polythene and carton. To justify, nowadays, people purchase more and more things which are packed into cartons and plastic boxes. Thus, after opening the product customer throw the waste material at landfill sites. Therefore, It has become a gagantic concern in front of society.

On the other hand, Initially, under the instruction of e- shopping, local business men have to face problem regarding sale of their products and financially. To demonstrates, people do not need to visit at the market for purchase distinct kinds of things as they buy through online services in the present of networking system. Apart from that, non biodegradable things release harmful gases which has become the serious concern in front of natural environment.

To recapitulate, lifestyle of folks has undergone dramatic changes over a couple of decades. Consequently, shopping has become “need of an hour”. Thus, online shopping has more negative outcomes than positive and therefore government and individual must take many proactive steps.