Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

It is certainly true that Jury plays and important role in hearing final verdict in favour or against the accuse.Australian and Britain law have no provision to get information of a person who has committed crime.Some lawyers believes that all previous record of a person should be provided to deliver justice. My inclination falls in line with this view .

There are numerous reasons in favor of providing information of criminal to jury.Firstly, having detailed past history of a person indulged in crime will identify the nature and behavior of criminal and severity of crime he/she had conducted.Furthermore,it will help the jury to conduct a thorough research of an accused which will help them to prepare a strong evidence against or in favor of suspect.For instance, person with history of broken family,burglary or even robbery will make jury think in that way to correlate with the present crime.In addition, It will be less cumbersome for jury to arrive on fair decision.

However,lack of past information about suspected accuse may declare innocent guilty and could be punished for imprisonment for small period,life time or even to be hanged till death.These will create mental and physical trauma to victim and his family.Eventually,a person will loose faith and trust in the court of justice and may also have an adverse effects on other innocent victims.It is said that not a single innocent must be punished by the court of law even if hundreds of criminals are left free due to lack of evidence.

In nutshell, I strongly believe jury must have access to information about the defendant's past criminal records to arrive on rational decision for the victory of justice