Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

Commonwealth nations laws are known for unrevealed criminal records, even juries do not have rights to approach them. Some lawyers believe that the accessibility to the past of the accused is decisive for making final decision. I completely agree with the statement and shall put forth my arguments in the upcoming paragraphs.

Firstly, it is pivotal to allow the bench access to the criminal records, which help them have a thorough assessment about the potential in repeating illegal activities of the offenders. For instances, serial killers will become critical threats to society if the responsible authorities do not recognize substantially their criminal tendency. They cannot be treated as equal as other first-time culprits because the second time they break the law indicating intentionally actions. In the worst case, it turns out to be a habit while the juries have no evidence about it.

Secondly, the change in the practice promotes the severity of the punishment, therefore, reducing the proportion of guilty people. In other words, the unclean criminal record reminds people to rethink about their behavior carefully before they intend to break the law again. Because the more the crime they accused, the more stringent the punishment they committed.

Thirdly, the innocent people also get benefit when the historical of criminal are investigated. For example, if a girl are committed as unintentional killer for self-defense, the bench will base on her clean criminal record to make more lenient verdicts. The juries can read the subconscious mind of the accused to pronoun obviously, well-defined and conscious decisions.

In conclusion, it is evidence from the above argument that the jury must be made aware of the comprehensive past record of the convicted to make judgments without flaws.