Unemployment is getting increasingly serious in many countries. Some people think people should be offered only primary education, while others think secondary education is necessary. To What extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that rising unemployment is one of the most pressing issues in the industrial world. A high school certificate no longer guarantees a decent job. Some are of opinion that education beyond the primary school level is not needed, while the opponents of this proposition hold the view that it is necessary to offer secondary education. In my opinion, I completely agree with the idea that secondary level schooling is essential and should be provided.

The main reason why I believe secondary schooling should be offered is that academic qualifications are required in many professions worldwide. Most jobs today require at least a high school diploma or equivalent. For example, it is impossible to become a sales promoter, technician or clerk without having a high school qualification. As a result, high school graduates have access to more or better job opportunities both locally and internationally, and they can at least move out to another country to make a living if there are no career opportunities in their own country. Besides, the global job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position in a multinational company. Young people who do not have qualifications from a secondary school will not be able to compete.

In addition, secondary schools are the institutions where the fundamental formation of a young adult occurs. There they are in company of other teenagers of the same age. Years of learning in groups teach them the important lessons of living in a society. He or she learns the basic civic duties as well as independent living skills to survive in a competitive society. What is more, much core academic, technical and other job-related knowledge needed for future employment, further education or even self-employment is imparted at this stage. The most dreaded vices of the adolescence such as drug-addiction and alcoholism that lead to youth unemployment are also curbed in high schools. Consequently, access to and completion of secondary education will eventually lead more people to employment. To illustrate, some recent studies in the media highlighted that students who finish high school are less likely to be unemployed, and more likely to earn higher salaries than those with fewer qualifications.

In conclusion, I believe that it is vitally important for governments to offer secondary education because a high school diploma is indispensable in today’s highly competitive job market and secondary schools teach people the necessary skills that will better prepare them for the world beyond school.