Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the development of innovative technologies, especially the internet, many students now can get verified qualification through distance learning programmes without being in regular face-to-face contact with teachers in the classroom. Some people claim that this way of learning remotely have such negative impacts on students' interaction and motivation. While the drawbacks of this can be seen clearly, I believe that the benefits are greater.

To begin with, it might be undeniable that there are some flip sides of taking distance learning. Firstly, it may take away people's interaction as students only glue to the computer's screen when studying online. In particular, things people could do during the class are typing on their laptop, taking notes and sometimes asking questions to their tutors through the microphone. Secondly, getting unmotivated is easier to happen when ones study alone. This is because they cannot experience the conviviality of being on campus and rubbing shoulders with others on a daily basis. As a result, they might lose their interest in learning that might lead to low grades or dropping out their studies.

On the other hand, distance learning courses are considered to do wonders for students in many aspects. First of all, universities offering allow students to fit their learning around their work and home life. For example, students may find it comfortable when setting their own pace of study which can help them become more concentrated on the lessons. Moreover, a great deal of time and money in commuting is saved when taking distance classes. For instance, people do not have to spend money or hours on a bus to get to school, all they need is a computer equipped a microphone and headphone. Thus, learning remotely prove its merits on students' work-life balance and costs saving.

To sum up, although having some negative influence, I think that distantly delivered study would greatly benefit students in many ways.