Universities are becoming increasingly expensive to operate. In some countries, money from taxation has met these costs. However, this is not always enough to maintain the quality of universities.

What are some ways universities could be funded in future?

Tertiary education has become unavailable for numerous students due to its increased tuition fees. In many countries, therefore, it is not uncommon to see that the cost of education is often raised in order to keep its quality. I believe that an external funding and government support could be possible solutions to the issue.

Wealthy people, especially philanthropists can make an investment in universities. The first reason why they will direct a substantial amount of money in the future because as graduates, they are ready to assist them financially whenever these organizations are in need. Bill Gates, as an example, donates millions of dollars annually to the universities, particularly Cambridge University to support young talents. It is also anticipated that in the near future, there will be more and more young successful businessmen who will raise a fund and voluntarily contribute to the universities they will have graduated from, otherwise universities will not be available for everyone, and the quality of education, as a result, will have been affected considerably.

In addition to investors, government funding might address the problem. It is commonly believed that most countries will have been flourishing by the end of the decade and they, therefore, are able to encourage their local universities which are in financial crisis. Finland, for instance, has been supporting the half of its universities over twenty years, even though the country has experienced several economic meltdowns. It is estimated that this trend will be being applied to more countries in the globe by the following decade.

In conclusion, even if universities are struggling with finance to survive, investors can provide them with money, as well as, governments which may support them in the long term. I believe that alternative solutions also will be available; however, it will be relatively minor contributions.