Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Equality between men and women has become a matter of controversy since women started defending their right. According to some, university education is not exception and has to provide the equal opportunities in any fields of study. Yet, in some majors, it is better to be selective in choosing male or female students.

Acknowledging the same number of men and women who have chosen the same majors does not mean that women are as practical as men in those fields. Mining, for instance, is considered to be masculine and because of that many universities literally tend not to express gendered solidarity and act discriminatory. The ensuing justification can be related to the future job market in which men can tolerate the harsh atmosphere and conditions better than their female counterparts. Women are usually thought to be physically weaker and emotionally more vulnerable than men; as a result, it is assumed that women would eventually resign; it is more logical to select men to study this major at the beginning. On the contrary, in some majors including those linked to health issues or mentality of individuals women show better sympathy and empathy and can be more patient as well as responsible, so, the government budget should be allocated to train a large proportion of them to finish their education and join the market.

Another point to mention is that the tendency of men to have a long-term job or work full time can be more than women’s as women usually resign after having a child or when they are expecting their child. Hence, if the companies hire the equal number of men and women, they may face company downsize or resignation when women set their priority over meeting their family’s needs or when they cannot juggle between home and work’s responsibilities. Not only can the financial outcomes of a company be at risk, but also future career structure or prospect can be challenged due to incomplete projects or lack of experts or trained forces. In other words, the more men graduate, the more forces the organizations can recruit.

In conclusion, although it is not fair to choose more male students in universities, in some cases, male can be better candidates.