Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is a basic human right. But this does not imply that universities should accept equal number of male and female students for every course. There are several points to be mentioned about the validity of the above statement.

First of all, in certain parts of some countries, gender inequality is still a major concern. Some people believe that a girl child’s education is not important; the only thing matters is her marriage because she is born to look after her family. This kind of beliefs are hard to eliminate from the society. Government is trying to improve the situation by offering free education to girl students or by giving priorities to girl candidates for certain vacancies. Hence, it does not a bad idea to keep half of the seats for girls in universities or colleges.

Another aspect of this issue is the quality of education. If half of the seats is reserved for females, then a talented male candidate may get rejected due to vacancy shortage. Deserving students may not get admission while undeserving candidates make it. This is a critical issue which cannot be easily neglected.

However, I have another argument to support the idea of equal number of boys and girls in a class. I believe that a healthy interaction between boys and girls will help to create a better social atmosphere, reducing violence against women, and resulting in women empowerment.

To conclude, it is not mandatory to accommodate equal number of male and female students in every university, but it can be experimented to improve the current socio-political status.