University students nowadays have too much freedom and do not study enough. To what extent do you agree and disagree? Explain your opinion, using specific reasons and examples.

The issue of freedom provided in the education system has grown in importance since the failure rate of students in universities increased. Although to the lesser extent of freedom to postgraduates are advantageous, it must not be forgotten that it may also hinder students to pursue higher qualification. This essay will discuss this issue using an example from Job Centre in the UK and the failure rate among graduates in industrialised countries to demonstrate points and support arguments.

Firstly, there is ample evidence to suggest that too much freedom to university students has a negative impact on their studies. The reason behind this is that by having sufficient amount of freedom, students often work overtime in order to earn more rather than spending enough time for their studies. For example, a recent survey conducted by a Job Centre in the UK concluded that a substantial group of postgraduates across the UK universities is attracted towards the highest paid job compared to the other part of the world. Therefore, with a great amount of freedom provided to University students, they easily get distracted from the academic environment.

Secondly, it is evident that students who are studying with too much freedom has a poor academic performance. This is because most of the university students spend a considerable amount of time for the enjoyment purposes such as clubbing and even drugs. Furthermore, student lacks interest to attend classes. For instance, while compared to undeveloped countries, the failure rate among graduates in developed countries, where freedom to the students were given extravagantly, are significant. Thus, inevitably, providing too much freedom to university students has a direct link to poor performance in the exam.

To conclude, I strongly agree that too much freedom to the university students will hamper their study. This is mainly due to the involvement of graduates in the highly paid job and enjoyment.