University students should study whatever they like

Nowadays, it is obviously seen that majority of people tend to carry on their higher education in institutions such as a university or a college. While some citizens believe that students should have their freedom to study subjects that they are interested in while others disagree with it and opine that they have to be involved in major that will be very utilitarian in the future.

At the beginning, every person in this world is likely to have human rights, which means they are free to follow something that they like, choosing a subject at the university as an example. Generally, students have a tendency to join the major that rely on their passions. To illustrate, my brother, Luce, he has an interest in analysing data and he has decided to go into Statistics and the committee of a university cannot restrict him to study that subject since that action seems restricting someone from his interest. Thus once a student gets admitted to a university or a college, s/he should have the freedom to read the subjects that interest him/ her. Studying from passion is more effective in most of the cases.

On the other hand, many people feel that students should join in a major, particularly which is related to technology and science, such as natural science and technology, information technology etc. and they should solely focus on studying these subjects. Based on research carried out by Statistics Center in Semarang, it is predicted that due to globalisation, the world will be focused on technology and science in the future. So, it is certainly believed that college students should be involved in correlating with those subjects so that they can adapt to the future circumstances and develop themselves.

After hashing out both points of views, it can be concluded that although people certainly have a freedom to choose their major in university and colleges, it is a wise decision to study subjects that can be utilised in their future.