In the age of high technology, the advent of social networking sites has been gradually taking the place of face-to-face meetings in modern life. While this development is beneficial to a certain extent, I presume that this may rather bring shortcomings to our life.

It is no denying that technological breakthroughs have made human life infinitely more comfortable. The advent of social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter or Instagram has made interactions among people become easier than ever. Only by clicking the mouse, Internet users could find and make friends or contact with their families without any difficulties in terms of geographic boundaries. Besides, the Internet has done wonders for shopaholics as well when allowing them to make online purchases via various e-commerce sites such as Shopee, Lazada, to name but a few. Therefore, people nowadays tend to live on the Internet, and gradually lose their interest in conventional communication.

Unfortunately this phenomenon turns out to bring more repercussions than merits to the technophiles. A key rationale is that overreliance on the virtual world may lead to the loss of real life interactions. This may not only damage face-to-face relationships but also result in a serious lack of interpersonal skill. Additionally, the heavy exposure to the Internet could exert adverse bearing on users' mental health since Internet addicts who incline to glue their eyes on the screen all the time are susceptible to contract with anxiety and other psychological disorders. Consequently, they gradually lose their ability to interact physically and even could be isolated when exposed to the world outside.

In conclusion, even though technologically advances have obviously improved human life standards, I still lean towards the idea that this actually is an adverse development. Internet users should learn to balance online and physical interactions in order to not only maintain real life relationships but also to ensure that social network is used for appropriate purposes.