The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an ongoing contentious debate over whether people will use social media to communicate with each other instead of going out and have a face-to-face meeting. In my opinion, I totally agree with this statement as the convenience of it and it helps fight the pandemic. However, it still has a disadvantage as it reduces human-to-human interaction.

To begin with, the advent of social networks provides us more convenience for information exchange and relationship maintenance, especially when long-distance is a matter. For example, students studying abroad enable to keep in touch with their families and friends on a daily basis without paying fees. Social media is also a powerful tool in marketing and business. In this digital age, companies not only keep the clients updated regarding the newly-released product but attract the new customer by running their campaigns on several online platforms such as Instagram, Facebook.

Moreover, due to an outburst of COVID-19 recently, many people are expected to work from home via a technology device like a laptop. As a result of it, social networking sites are so beneficial and help workers to complete the task without needing to.

By contrast, using social networking sites may be a counter-productive trend when the number of people relying on a virtual platform surge continuously. That situation can result in a decrease in the quality of interpersonal communication in society. Young people are getting used to virtual lives keep away from their parents, from the real world, and even get depressed. The consequences of over-reliance on social media which the young will have to suffer in the future, including a lack of socializing skills and losing a sense of interaction.

In conclusion, social media do harmful things to people when it is used wrongly and uncontrollably, nevertheless, it benefits greatly in a broad way of life.