The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, face-to-face communication is being replaced with online conversations using social media apps such as Facebook, Zalo or Instagram. While I understand that these technologies have brought benefits to our lives, I am still of the opinion that their drawbacks are greater.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why people might approve of the beneficial use of social networking sites. The first objection is that social media is a powerful tool which provides users with many opportunities to have access to huge amounts of knowledge. Everyone can find different types of information about areas of interest and topics which they are learning about. Another significant advantage is that social networks are extremely convenient for information exchange and relationship maintenance, regardless of geographic location. For example, students studying abroad can keep in touch and share photos with their families and friends on a daily basis by using the video calls features of Facebook or various other apps. However, this exerts marginal influence on most users as they may have difficulties using online platforms properly.

On the other hand, I would argue that the advantages of the use of social technologies pale in comparison with the disadvantages. Firstly, these platforms are becoming more and more popular and attracting several new users every day, so people can fall prey to online communication abuse, such as online bullying and harassment. In fact, social networks can be a toxic environment where users can be verbally assaulted due to jealousy of other users. The second disadvantage that should be taken into consideration is the overuse of social media reduces the quality of interpersonal communication and social skills such as eye contact or body language expressions. For instance, many people are so addicted to online platforms that they always stare at their screens during dinners with their families without paying attention to the people around them. Finally, many users who get into the habit of keeping themselves updated with online media have the risk of data breaches. Hackers will infiltrate into the user's account and take advantage of the user's personal information to spread malicious content like scams and malware.

In conclusion, despite several benefits that the use of social networking sites has, it seems to me that they are far outweighed by the potential problems.