Using facebook as a tool of online learning

The increase in availability of modern gadgets has led to radically different from any previous decade in the way students today study. There is no denying the fact that Internet plays an essential role in online studying, especially when there are many useful applications for social interacting purpose were invented and released in public. One of the most popular websites is Facebook, which is an American online social media and social networking service, and are used by over 2.4 billions users worldwide. To be considered as the most effective tool used in online learning, surprisingly that the feature is there are both pros and cons in using this social networking site.

It is believed that Facebook is instrumental in studying using Internet. Teachers can use it to create a strong sense of community among learners with flexible and comfortable schedule. Unlike other gadgets such as Zoom or Google Meet, teachers and students are not forced to online and join at the same time which is inconvenient. Once a person post something on their class’s page on Facebook, the others still can check it later in case they are not available at the time. Moreover, teachers can get students’ opinion whenever they want through the comments under the posts without being confused when many students speak out at the same time like other applications.

However, on the contrary to popular belief, Facebook may not be a reliable source of knowledge. As a cost-free websites is the reason why controlling such a huge amount of information on Facebook is apparently impossible. It’s obvious that everyone can post and share anything that they want and there is nobody makes sure and be responsible for whether the source users approach everyday is toxic information or not. unsurprisingly, since it is the company’s purpose to turn Facebook to be a community with full of absorbing things that bring joy to users. It leads to another disadvantageous matter is that students can easily get distraction from interesting entertainment posts while using Facebook as a tools for e-learning. That problem not only affects students’ result in studying, but also has poor impact on their health, especially for the eyes.

All thing considered, being a smart Facebook’s user on elearning requires students the ability to proactively perceive different sources of information and discipline for spending time online appropriately.